The Fritz Hitchcock Award

The Fritz Hitchcock Award

AIADA honors the legacy of Fritz Hitchcock, late Chairman of Hitchcock Automotive Resources, with the annual selection of a dealer who has shown exemplary commitment to advocacy to receive the Fritz Hitchcock Advocacy Achievement Award.

In 2016 AIADA renamed its Grassroots Leadership Award in honor of California auto dealer Fritz Hitchcock, who was also named as its first recipient. The awardrecognizes the recipient’s efforts in engaging elected officials and other policymakers on the issues important to the international auto dealer community.

“I can’t think of anyone who has been so deeply involved in advocating for America’s international franchise dealer community with legislators and policymakers,” said AIADA President & CEO Cody Lusk in 2016. “Naming the award in Fritz’s honor should inspire other dealers to take the same proactive role he has in building relationships with legislators and ensuring they know about our industry.”

A former Chairman of the California Chamber of Commerce, Hitchcock was the owner and operator of three Southern California auto dealerships: Puente Hills Toyota, Northridge Toyota, and Toyota of Santa Barbara. He served as Chairman of AIADA’s Board of Directors and was a co-founder of the Automotive Free International Trade Political Action Committee (AFIT-PAC). He has also served as President of the California New Car Dealers Association, the Southern California Toyota Dealers Association, and the Mazda National Dealer Council.  In addition to his extensive industry involvement and awards, Hitchcock dedicated his time to varied philanthropic pursuits.  His scholarship fund, The Hitchcock Educational Trust, has provided debt-free college educations to approximately 97 young men and women, in fields including nursing, medicine, education, political science, and engineering.

Past Winners:

2022: Bob Carter

2021: Peter Hennessy

2019: Rep. Mike Kelly

2018: Bert Boeckmann

2015: Dave Conant 

2014: John Roberts

2013: Morrie Wagener & Cindy Wagener Robin

2012: Jim Norton

2011: Rep. Mike Kelly

2010: Paul Atkinson

2009: Shau-wai Lam